The music of ‘No Side Effects’ is a mix of electronic, synth pop, funk and a sprinkling of jazz using vocals, found sounds, samples, electronic keyboards, guitars and drums.

The themes sprinkled through the music, writing, art and podcasts (so far) delve lightly into religion, life and death, media, global warming, perceptions of reality, depression, understanding, reasoning and the end of everything.

The debut album called ‘Reinventing Failure’ is due out on 2nd August 2018 following the release of 4 singles and 2 music videos from the album, all of which can be downloaded through Bandcamp.

‘No Side Effects’ is a collaboration between two artists, Thomas Haynes of ‘Grasslands’ and Adrian Wallington of ‘Two Short Planks’. Tom and Ade met through their work in the environmental sector in Newbury in 2009 and in 2013, finally met to at least chat about creating music at a Newbury pub in September 2013. Tom currently resides in Swindon and Ade lives in Newbury.



Mixing and Mastering in Progress

We having been mixing the final tracks for the new album over the Christmas and New Year holidays and continuing into January and February. The final selection of 9 songs have almost all been mixed and hope to start mastering soon. We’ve also been exploring images, logos and other ideas around the themes in the album.

A Way of Creating Music

An incredibly hot day of recording, listening and creating music on Sunday. We experimented with synths and drums to try and lay a base for a new track, along with recording lyrics for Isolation Explosion and waffling around the subject of Ideals.

A new track called Final Forecast was added to the selection of tracks. The development of most of the tracks is generally done by one of us working a rough and taking it as far as we can then handing it over for the other one to work on. The tracks sometimes change completely and other times it undergoes a few tweaks. A track like Breaking News was worked up and completed in a day and Isolation Explosion, one of the first tracks, has been nibbled at since October 2013. We will now move to complete the tracks we have done so far.

Vocal Focus

We got together for an enjoyable evening yesterday, the first time since our weekend session in May, to catch up and generally move forward with the tracks. A large amount of time was spent working on recording vocals for Dark Light and Isolation Explosion, recording each verse and chorus in batches of three, overlaying two tracks to give a richer sound and the third as an enhancement. We have both been working on lyrics, some of which were used to replace the ‘holding’ lyrics on these two tracks along with a page of spoken words used on The Sun Implodes (pfft!).

We also continue experimenting with vocal effects (many hours spent twiddling virtual knobs!) and recorded ‘found’ sounds, including Cable Avoidance Tools and broken boilers! There have also been a few more tracks added, giving us around 15 to 16 tracks to develop and select for the album.


Dark Light

A new track called ‘Dark Light’, the ninth that will be included on the album, moved fairly quickly to its completion. The listing so far is below.

  • Isolation Explosion
  • Eco-terror
  • Words
  • A New Conversation
  • Breaking News
  • Turn Right And you Have Reached Your Death
  • Dark Light
  • 24 Hours
  • The Sun Implodes (pfft)

The Name Epiphany

This weekend we saturated ourselves in music. A mix of programming, guitar, vocals, tea, laughs and a lot of chatter. We now also have a band name ‘No Side Effects’ after chuckling our way through random words in The Mail on Sunday (sorry). We also added a further 2 songs towards the album, making eight musical sketches now at varying stages of completion.